There are many reasons why someone might choose to get married in Texas. Overall, Texas offers many advantages for those considering a wedding, including beautiful locations, mild weather for part of the year, and a diverse culture that can allow couples to customize their wedding to their liking. Texas has many scenic locations that are perfect for weddings, including ranches, gardens, and historic churches. Texas’ climate can vary, but the spring and fall seasons often provide comfortable weather for outdoor weddings. Lastly, Texas has a diverse culture with many different traditions, which can allow couples to personalize their wedding.
Although it may seem alluring, it’s important for couples to realize that Texas has unique laws regarding weddings within the state and what they can do if they want an online marriage in Texas.
Are online marriages legal in Texas?
Couples must go to a county clerk’s office in person to apply for a marriage license.
What’s needed if I want an in-person wedding in Texas
Getting married in Texas typically involves several steps, including obtaining a marriage license, finding an officiant, and having a wedding ceremony. Note that a license costs between $30 to $100, depending on the county, and there is no waiting period for Texas residents.
Here is an overview of the process:
1. Obtain a marriage license: Both parties must apply in person at the county clerk’s office to obtain a marriage license. You will need to provide valid ID, proof of age, and pay the required fee. The license is valid for 90 days.
2. Find an officiant: You will need to find a registered officiant to solemnize your wedding. This can be a religious official, judge, justice of the peace, or county clerk. Your officiant must sign and return your marriage license after the ceremony.
3. Plan your ceremony: Work with your officiant to coordinate the details of your wedding ceremony, including the date, time, and location. You may need to reserve a venue and hire vendors like a photographer.
4. Have your ceremony: On your wedding day, have your ceremony in front of your officiant and at least two witnesses. During the ceremony, you will exchange vows and rings as your officiant pronounces you married.
5. Record your marriage license: After the ceremony, your officiant must return your signed marriage license to the county clerk’s office that issued it within 30 days. Once filed, you can request certified copies of your record.
Additional requirements may apply based on your circumstances. Check with the county clerk’s office to ensure you are following all proper procedures. During the COVID-19 crisis, some counties may allow fully virtual procedures, but in-person elements will likely resume once it is safe to do so.
How do I get married online in Texas?
Using VirtualMarriage.com, couples may do the entire process online from any place. A legitimate U.S. marriage certificate may be acquired quickly, easily, and in most cases, in less than 48 hours, without any documentation.
1. Signup for VirtualMarriage.com using the link here.
It’s simple to get legally married online using VirtualMarriage. Technically, you’ll be married through the courts in Utah state. This will be legally recognized in all 50 states – included the state of California.
You can read 50+ reviews of VirtualMarriage here.
2. Booking your ceremony with our VirtualMarriage licensed officiant.
After signing up, you’ll book your ceremony with your VirtualMarriage licensed officiant through an easy online portal. We’re open 7 days a week (including weekends) for ~8am to 8pm PST.
You will provide some details for your ceremony preferences around personal vows, exchanging rings & including a religious prayer. You’ll also have the option to book the ceremony in english, spanish or french.
After booking your ceremony, you will get a calendar invitation for the date / time you booked and your Zoom link for the ceremony. Legally you’ll need 2 witnesses for your wedding (can be friends or family). If needed, we can provide 2 witnesses for your wedding for an additional fee.
3. Get marriage license
After booking your ceremony, you’ll obtain your marriage license from the Utah courts. We’ll provide a step-by-step guide as well as premium customer support to walk you through this process. You’ll simply need a valid ID for both partners, both be over 18+ years old & have not gotten divorced in the last 60 days.
You’ll need a marriage license completed before your ceremony takes place.
4. Join your family and friends online to celebrate your marriage!
Finally, get hitched online while lounging in your house (or any other place with a strong internet connection!). It should take roughly 15 minutes to complete the ceremony. Your Zoom link is in your calendar invitation.
A digital copy of your U.S. marriage certificate will be sent to you immediately after your online wedding, and a printed copy will be sent to you within a few business days.
So, getting married online in Florida is a fast and uncomplicated process. With just a few steps, you’ll be able to complete the process with ease. All you need is a valid email address, identification, and your payment method. For more information about VirtualMarriage.com in making Florida online marriage possible, please visit our website.
Are online marriages legal outside the United States?
If you want your wedding to be certified and/or recognized in a nation other than the United States, you might need to get an Apostille certification. An apostille guarantees that your marriage license is valid, verifiably legitimate, and recognized in all nations that have ratified The Hague Apostille Convention of 1961. You can purchase an Apostille from us for an additional fee. We’ll help process your Apostille & have it shipped to your doorstep.